Bryn Mawr Alum

Freedom Year

Freedom Year
$16.99
AN EXPLORATION OF POWER.
At 21, Sofia Wren realizes that she is a total doormat. Her boss steals money from her. She gets her heart broken too many times. But when she starts losing friends because she is so passive, it really gets real. What is she doing wrong?
Sofia is ready to do just about anything to finally master being a "strong, independent woman" in real life, when her best friend suggests she try being more dominant and meet men who will not only give her all the power, but also clean her kitchen, treat her like a goddess, and give her endless pleasure for free.
As she pursues power, Sofia struggles once more to be and act like the best possible version of herself. How can she become a strong, empowered woman and get what the good girl inside of her wants-without going too far? What is a strong woman, exactly? And if the aim is to "be herself," then who is she really?
Whatever she's doing, it's not working and something has to change.In this coming-of-age story and memoir, Sofia Wren recounts the events during a pivotal year that awakened a new understanding of what true freedom and power look like.
ISBN/SKU: 
9798672203317
Publication Date: 
August 5, 2020
Author: 

Habit Forming: Drug Addiction in America

$35.00
Habitual drug use in the United States is at least as old as the nation itself. Habit Forming traces the history of unregulated drug use and dependency before 1914, when the Harrison Narcotic Tax Act limited sales of opiates and cocaine under US law. Many Americans used opiates and other drugs medically and became addicted. Some tried Hasheesh Candy, injected morphine, or visited opium dens, but neither use nor addiction was linked to crime, due to the dearth of restrictive laws. After the Civil War, American presses published extensively about domestic addiction. Later in the nineteenth century, many used cocaine and heroin as medicine. As addiction became a major public health issue, commentators typically sympathized with white, middle-class drug users, while criticizing such use by poor or working-class people and people of color. When habituation was associated with middle-class morphine users, few advocated for restricted drug access. By the 1910s, as use was increasingly associated with poor young men, support for regulations increased. In outlawing users' access to habit-forming drugs at the national level, a public health problem became a larger legal and social problem, one with an enduring influence on American drug laws and their enforcement.
ISBN/SKU: 
9780197646694
Publication Date: 
December 16, 2022

High on the Hog

High on the Hog
$15.00

New York Times bestseller
From the Winner of the James Beard Lifetime Achievement Award
Now a Netflix Original Series

The grande dame of African American cookbooks and winner of the James Beard Lifetime Achievement Award stakes her claim as a culinary historian with a narrative history of African American cuisine.

Acclaimed cookbook author Jessica B. Harris has spent much of her life researching the food and foodways of the African Diaspora. High on the Hog is the culmination of years of her work, and the result is a most engaging history of African American cuisine. Harris takes the reader on a harrowing journey from Africa across the Atlantic to America, tracking the trials that the people and the food have undergone along the way.

From chitlins and ham hocks to fried chicken and vegan soul, Harris celebrates the delicious and restorative foods of the African American experience and details how each came to form such an important part of African American culture, history, and identity. Although the story of African cuisine in America begins with slavery, High on the Hog ultimately chronicles a thrilling history of triumph and survival. The work of a masterful storyteller and an acclaimed scholar, Jessica B. Harris's High on the Hog fills an important gap in our culinary history.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781608194506
Publication Date: 
January 24, 2012
Author: 
Publisher: 

How to Lose the Information War

How to Lose the Information War
$19.95

Since the start of the Trump era, the United States and the Western world has finally begun to wake up to the threat of online warfare and the attacks from Russia. The question no one seems to be able to answer is: what can the West do about it?

Central and Eastern European states, however, have been aware of the threat for years. Nina Jankowicz has advised these governments on the front lines of the information war. The lessons she learnt from that fight, and from her attempts to get US congress to act, make for essential reading.

How to Lose the Information War takes the reader on a journey through five Western governments' responses to Russian information warfare tactics - all of which have failed. She journeys into the campaigns the Russian operatives run, and shows how we can better understand the motivations behind these attacks and how to beat them. Above all, this book shows what is at stake: the future of civil discourse and democracy, and the value of truth itself.

ISBN/SKU: 
9780755642083
Publication Date: 
September 23, 2021
Author: 
Publisher: 

Indigo and Ida

Indigo and Ida
$19.99

When eighth grader and aspiring journalist Indigo breaks an important story, exposing an unfair school policy, she's suddenly popular for the first time.

The friends who've recently drifted away from her want to hang out again. Then Indigo notices that the school's disciplinary policies seem to be enforced especially harshly with students of color, like her. She wants to keep investigating, but her friends insist she's imagining things.

Meanwhile, Indigo stumbles upon a book by Black journalist and activist Ida B. Wells--with private letters written by Ida tucked inside. As she reads about Ida's lifelong battle against racism, Indigo realizes she must choose between keeping quiet and fighting for justice.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781728467689
Publication Date: 
April 4, 2023

Ironic Freedom

Ironic Freedom
$62.99
$89.99
You Save:
$27.00
Sale 30% off 1 item
Ironic Freedom asserts that freedom from governmental interference may make people vulnerable to other sources of coercion; these affects vary by gender, race, and class. Increasing negative freedoms may reinforce existing asymmetrical power relationships within society.
ISBN/SKU: 
9781349440665
Publication Date: 
October 25, 2013
Author: 
Publisher: 

Joey's Buddy

Joey's Buddy
$12.99

Joey went into the foster care system at age 7. He was separated from his mother, sister, cousin, aunt, and his stuffed animal "Buddy." After three foster homes, he found a permanent foster home where he remained until he went to college. He was able to take care of a real dog whom he named "Buddy" and who moved with him into that home. Despite all the difficulties, he thrived!

ISBN/SKU: 
9780578874449
Publication Date: 
September 13, 2021
Author: 
Publisher: 

Kingdom of Without

Kingdom of Without
$19.99
A wily young thief must use her wits to survive futuristic, alternate history Beijing in this Les Misérables-inspired young adult cyberpunk that is perfect for fans of Six of Crows and Fullmetal Alchemist.

When Zhong Ning'er takes the job, she expects a smash-and-grab burglary she's doing to make rent and help out a friend. What she doesn't expect: a sad-eyed army boy who dreams of insurrection, a former rebel leader trapped inside a secret lab, a group of aspiring revolutionaries who are first collaborators, then compatriots, and then, perhaps, friends.

But this is Beijing, nearly a hundred and fifty years after General Yuan Shikai successfully declared himself emperor in 1915. His descendants rule the country from their seat in the imperial city, their gendarmerie--the Beiyang Army--run the streets, aided by cyborgs and the Brocade Guard. Walls have risen, dividing the city into districts called Rings--nominally only by geography, but in truth by class. Earthquakes devastate the northern farmlands, crops drown in the southern typhoons, and all over the country people are hooked on a drug they call Complacency.

As a Sixth Ring girl who watched previous uprisings crushed brutally by the court, Ning'er isn't much of an optimist, and she's certainly no revolutionary. But that might not be up to her--as the stakes get higher, the time for passivity is quickly running out, and she must decide if she wants to sit idly in her cynicism, or embrace the breathless, terrible possibility of hope.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781665901444
Publication Date: 
November 28, 2023

Media-Ready Feminism and Everyday Sexism

Media-Ready Feminism and Everyday Sexism
$16.48
$32.95
You Save:
$16.47
Sale 50% off 1 item
Andrea L. Press is William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of Media Studies and Sociology at the University of Virginia. Her books include The Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Feminism (coedited with Tasha Oren). Francesca Tripodi is Assistant Professor of Information and Library Science and Senior Researcher at the Center for Information Technology and Public Life at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
ISBN/SKU: 
9781438481968
Publication Date: 
July 2, 2021

Modern Guide to Human Design

Modern Guide to Human Design
$27.99

Wouldn't it be great if we were handed an instruction manual, not only for ourselves but the people we love? Our Human Design chart is this blueprint for navigating life as our true selves, releasing outside pressures and beliefs, and allowing our innate magic to shine.

The world teaches us that the truth comes from outside of us--family, friends, experts, institutions--and that we make our best decisions with logic. Human design proposes a new reality: We each have a built-in navigation system. We are each wired for our own unique purpose!

Have you realized that things go smoothly when you trust your gut? You might be a Generator. Do you need to "sleep on it" when making a big decision? You might have Emotional Authority. Has anyone ever told you that you give the best advice? You could be a Projector. Do you bristle when others tell you what to do because you know you're here to impact the world by doing things your way? You may have a Manifestor aura. Have you always just felt more sensitive and different than everyone around you? You might be part of the 1% as a rare Reflector.

The best thing about human design is that it recognizes something we all know but often forget: We are all different. Our human design chart is the tangible blueprint for moving away from living the life that society expects of us and stepping into our special gifts and magic. Wouldn't it be incredible to have an instruction manual explaining how to have the best relationship with your child, partner, friends, or coworkers? This guide empowers us to allow everyone, including ourselves, to be who they are truly meant to be.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781423664024
Publication Date: 
October 3, 2023
Author: 
Publisher: