Bryn Mawr Alum

New Religions and the Mediation of Non-Monogamy

New Religions and the Mediation of Non-Monogamy
$52.95

The book is the first full-length study informed by fieldwork with Mormon polygamists and fieldwork with LGBTQ Neo-Pagan/Neo-Tantric polyamorists and examines the relationship between alternative American religions and the media representation of non-monogamies on reality-TV shows.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781032051673
Publication Date: 
May 31, 2023
Author: 
Publisher: 

Out of the Blue

Out of the Blue
$18.99
In this touching story, a girl and an octopus unexpectedly connect over feeling small in a big world.

Coral has big dreams about grand adventures--but it's hard to go after these big dreams when you're the smallest in the class and feel completely invisible. During a school trip to the aquarium, Coral finds a kindred spirit in Kraken, a small octopus who knows that being invisible isn't always a bad thing.

When Coral finds herself in the aquarium after everyone else goes home, she learns that being seen isn't always about how big you are.

ISBN/SKU: 
9780593353875
Publication Date: 
July 25, 2023
Author: 
Publisher: 

Paging God

Paging God
$31.00
While the modern science of medicine often seems nothing short of miraculous, religion still plays an important role in the past and present of many hospitals. When three-quarters of Americans believe that God can cure people who have been given little or no chance of survival by their doctors, how do today's technologically sophisticated health care organizations address spirituality and faith? Through a combination of interviews with nurses, doctors, and chaplains across the United States and close observation of their daily routines, Wendy Cadge takes readers inside major academic medical institutions to explore how today's doctors and hospitals address prayer and other forms of religion and spirituality. From chapels to intensive care units to the morgue, hospital caregivers speak directly in these pages about how religion is part of their daily work in visible and invisible ways. In Paging God: Religion in the Halls of Medicine, Cadge shifts attention away from the ongoing controversy about whether faith and spirituality should play a role in health care and back to the many ways that these powerful forces already function in healthcare today.
ISBN/SKU: 
9780226922119
Publication Date: 
January 16, 2013
Author: 

Patch of Sky

Patch of Sky
$14.39
$17.99
You Save:
$3.60
Sale 20% off 1 item

by Nic Yulo

 

A fiercely determined girl will do anything to help her best pig friend finally see the sky in this unique friendship story

Pia just found out the terrible news that pigs can't look straight up, which means her best friend and right-hand-pig Patches has never seen the sky. If you ask her, that is absolutely cuckoo bananas. Now Pia is on a mission to share the beauty of the big wide sky with Patches . . . and she will do whatever it takes!

From debut author-illustrator Nic Yulo comes this story of determination, empathy, and learning to look at the world (and the sky!) in a whole new way.

ISBN/SKU: 
9780593353844
Publication Date: 
July 12, 2022
Author: 
Publisher: 

Rebelwing

Rebelwing
$11.99

by Andrea Tang BMC '12

"Mixing everything that's best about dragons, dystopia, and generational conflict, Tang delivers a high flying debut that pulls no punches." --E.K. Johnston, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

Things just got weird for Prudence Wu.

One minute, she's cashing in on a routine smuggling deal. The next, she's escaping enforcers on the wings of what very much appears to be a sentient cybernetic dragon.

Pru is used to life throwing her some unpleasant surprises--she goes to prep school, after all, and selling banned media across the border in a country with a ruthless corporate government obviously has its risks. But a cybernetic dragon? That's new.

She tries to forget about the fact that the only reason she's not in jail is because some sort of robot saved her, and that she's going to have to get a new side job now that enforcers are on to her. So she's not exactly thrilled when Rebelwing shows up again.

Even worse, it's become increasingly clear that the rogue machine has imprinted on her permanently, which means she'd better figure out this whole piloting-a-dragon thing--fast. Because Rebelwing just happens to be the ridiculously expensive weapon her government needs in a brewing war with its neighbor, and Pru's the only one who can fly it.

Set in a wonderfully inventive near-future Washington, D.C., this hilarious, defiant debut sparkles with wit and wisdom, deftly exploring media consumption, personal freedoms, and the weight of one life as Pru, rather reluctantly, takes to the skies.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781984835109
Publication Date: 
February 23, 2021
Author: 
Publisher: 

Research Directions in Symplectic and Contact Geometry and Topology

Research Directions in Symplectic and Contact Geometry and Topology
$75.47

Edited by Lisa Traynor - Professor of Mathematics

This book highlights a number of recent research advances in the field of symplectic and contact geometry and topology, and related areas in low-dimensional topology. This field has experienced significant and exciting growth in the past few decades, and this volume provides an accessible introduction into many active research problems in this area. The papers were written with a broad audience in mind so as to reach a wide range of mathematicians at various levels. Aside from teaching readers about developing research areas, this book will inspire researchers to ask further questions to continue to advance the field.
The volume contains both original results and survey articles, presenting the results of collaborative research on a wide range of topics. These projects began at the Research Collaboration Conference for Women in Symplectic and Contact Geometry and Topology (WiSCon) in July 2019 at ICERM, Brown University. Each group of authors includedfemale and nonbinary mathematicians at different career levels in mathematics and with varying areas of expertise. This paved the way for new connections between mathematicians at all career levels, spanning multiple continents, and resulted in the new collaborations and directions that are featured in this work.
ISBN/SKU: 
9783030809812
Publication Date: 
February 4, 2023
Publisher: 

Root Shock

Root Shock
$22.95
Like a sequel to the prescient warnings of urbanist Jane Jacobs, Dr. Mindy Thompson Fullilove reveals the disturbing effects of decades of insensitive urban renewal projects on communities of color. For those whose homes and neighborhoods were bulldozed, the urban modernization projects that swept America starting in 1949 were nothing short of an assault. Vibrant city blocks?places rich in culture?were torn apart by freeways and other invasive development, devastating the lives of poor residents. Fullilove passionately describes the profound traumatic stress?the "root shock"?that results when a neighborhood is demolished. She estimates that federal and state urban renewal programs, spearheaded by business and real estate interests, destroyed 1,600 African American districts in cities across the United States. But urban renewal didn't just disrupt black communities: it ruined their economic health and social cohesion, stripping displaced residents of their sense of place as well. It also left big gashes in the centers of cities that are only now slowly being repaired. Focusing on the Hill District of Pittsburgh, the Central Ward in Newark, and the small Virginia city of Roanoke, Dr. Fullilove argues powerfully against policies of displacement. Understanding the damage caused by root shock is crucial to coping with its human toll and helping cities become whole. Mindy Thompson Fullilove, MD, is a research psychiatrist at New York State Psychiatric Institute and professor of clinical psychiatry and public health at Columbia University. She is the author of five books, including Urban Alchemy.
ISBN/SKU: 
9781613320198
Publication Date: 
November 1, 2016

Soul Support

Soul Support
$6.25
$25.00
You Save:
$18.75
Sale 75% off 1 item
A young dancer's last hope--a bone marrow transplant--has failed. A homeless man, in the final stages of AIDS, refuses to speak. A newly retired woman has just received a terminal diagnosis and is wailing in despair. What can we learn about death, dying, and the human spirit as we journey with a hospital chaplain into sickrooms like these? Soul Support tells true stories of people coming to terms--or not--with their final days. It offers intimate, behind-the-scenes accounts of the many ways patients, their families and friends, and hospital staff all deal with death and dying. It speaks to readers reflecting on their own mortality or the life-threatening illness of a loved one, and tells of the sometimes-astonishing events that can occur when people are in their last hours of life. The book tells not only their stories, but also the chaplain's. It relates how she listened and learned and stumbled and grew. Soul Support speaks to believers and nonbelievers alike, providing information, inspiration, and hope.
ISBN/SKU: 
9781532618741
Publication Date: 
June 20, 2017

Student Debt

Student Debt
$38.49
$54.99
You Save:
$16.50
Sale 30% off 1 item
This book analyzes reliable evidence to tell the true story of student debt in America. One of the nation's foremost experts on college finance, Sandy Baum exposes how misleading the widely accepted narrative on student debt is. Baum combines data, research, and analysis to show how the current discourse obscures serious problems, risks misdirecting taxpayer dollars, and could deprive too many Americans of the educational opportunities they deserve. This book and its policy recommendations provide the basis for a new and more constructive national agenda to make paying for college more manageable.
ISBN/SKU: 
9781349949434
Publication Date: 
July 20, 2016
Author: 
Publisher: 

These Deadly Prophecies

These Deadly Prophecies
$18.99
"An incredibly fun thrill-ride by a masterful storyteller." --Marie Lu, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Stars And Smoke

A teenage sorcerer's apprentice must solve her boss's murder in order to prove her innocence in this twisty, magic-infused murder mystery perfect for fans of Knives Out and The Inheritance Games.

Being an apprentice to one of the world's most famous sorcerers has its challenges; Tabatha Zeng just didn't think they would include solving crime. But when her boss, the infamous fortuneteller Sorcerer Solomon, predicts his own brutal death--and worse, it comes true--Tabatha finds herself caught in the crosshairs.

The police have their sights set on her and Callum Solomon, her murdered boss's youngest son. With suspicion swirling around them, the two decide to team up to find the real killer and clear their own names once and for all.

But solving a murder isn't as easy as it seems, especially when the suspect list is mostly the rich, connected, and magical members of Sorcerer Solomon's family. And Tabatha can't quite escape the nagging voice in her head asking: just how much can she really trust Callum Solomon?

Nothing is as it seems in this quick-witted and fantastical murder mystery.

ISBN/SKU: 
9780593524251
Publication Date: 
January 30, 2024