New & Noteworthy

Your BMC Bookshop uses this page to highlight new books published within the past few months by BMC alums, faculty and staff.  Please email us at bookshop@brynmawr.edu if you have a new release.

Steeped: The Chemistry of Tea

Steeped: The Chemistry of Tea
$28.00

by Michelle Francl - Frank B. Mallory Professor of Chemistry

Author's website: www.michellefrancldonnay.com

Tea is the world's most popular beverage. Dive into a cup of tea with a chemist and discover the rich molecular brew that can be extracted from the leaves of the Camellia sinensis plant. Tea contains over a hundred different chemical compounds which contribute to its colour, taste and scent - and its stimulating effects. The best-known is caffeine, but how does caffeine end up in tea and how can you get it out?

Beginning with the leaves, Steeped explores the chemistry behind different styles of tea, from green teas to pu-erh. It tackles the age-old question of when, or even whether, to add milk. And it puts the chemistry to use with advice on how to brew a better cup.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781839165917
Publication Date: 
January 24, 2024

Necessary Trouble

Necessary Trouble
$27.00
$30.00
You Save:
$3.00
Sale 10% off 1 item

by Drew Gilpin Faust '68

April 30th at 1:00 pm

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A memoir of coming of age in a conservative Southern family in postwar America.

 

To grow up in the 1950s was to enter a world of polarized national alliances, nuclear threat, and destabilized social hierarchies. Two world wars and the depression that connected them had unleashed a torrent of expectations and dissatisfactions--not only in global affairs but in American society and Americans' lives.

 

A privileged white girl in conservative, segregated Virginia was expected to adopt a willful blindness to the inequities of race and the constraints of gender. For Drew Gilpin, the acceptance of both female subordination and racial hierarchy proved intolerable and galvanizing. Urged to become "well adjusted" and to fill the role of a poised young lady that her upbringing imposed, she found resistance was necessary for her survival. During the 1960s, through her love of learning and her active engagement in the civil rights, student, and antiwar movements, Drew forged a path of her own--one that would eventually lead her to become a historian of the very conflicts that were instrumental in shaping the world she grew up in.

 

Culminating in the upheavals of 1968, Necessary Troublecaptures a time of rapid change and fierce reaction in one young woman's life, tracing the transformations and aftershocks that we continue to grapple with today.

 

Includes black-and-white images

 

ISBN/SKU: 
9780374601805
Publication Date: 
August 22, 2023

Losing the Plot: Film and Feeling in the Modern Novel

Losing the Plot: Film and Feeling in the Modern Novel
$30.00

by Pardis Dabashi

An examination of the relationship between literature and classical Hollywood cinema reveals a profound longing for plot in modernist fiction.

 

The modernist novel sought to escape what Virginia Woolf called the "tyranny" of plot. Yet even as twentieth-century writers pushed against the constraints of plot-driven Victorian novels, plot kept its hold on them through the influence of another medium: the cinema. Focusing on the novels of Nella Larsen, Djuna Barnes, and William Faulkner--writers known for their affinities and connections to classical Hollywood--Pardis Dabashi links the moviegoing practices of these writers to the tensions between the formal properties of their novels and the characters in them. Even when they did not feature outright happy endings, classical Hollywood films often provided satisfying formal resolutions and promoted normative social and political values. Watching these films, modernist authors were reminded of what they were leaving behind--both formally and in the name of aesthetic experimentalism--by losing the plot.

ISBN/SKU: 
9780226829258
Publication Date: 
November 6, 2023

Bread and Circus

Bread and Circus
$26.00

by Airea D Matthews - Associate Professor and Co-Chair of Creative Writing

Author's website: www.aireadee.com


Drawing upon economics, theology, and psychology, Bread and Circus explores the lived experiences of those impacted by poverty and racial injustice. This poetry collection is innovative not only in its dissection of established ideals but also in its experimentation with poetic form, with a highlight being blackout poems made by subverting key words in economic texts. The final section of the collection is an especially moving series on collective grief and hope. 

-Alyssa S., GSSWSR '24


 

"Discerning and significant." --Poetry Foundation
"A sharp memoir in verse." --LitHub

 

This powerful and timely collection of autobiographical poems from Yale Young Poets Award Winner and Philadelphia's former Poet Laureate Airea D. Matthews about the economics of class is a brilliant intellectual and artistic contribution to the ongoing conversation about American inequality.

 

As a former student of economics, Airea D. Matthews was fascinated and disturbed by 18th-century Scottish economist Adam Smith's magnum opus The Wealth of Nations. Now, she presents a direct challenge to Smith's theory of the invisible hand, which claims self-interest is the key to optimal economic outcomes. By juxtaposing redacted texts by Smith and the French Marxist Guy Debord with autobiographical prose and poems, Bread and Circuspersonally offers how self-interest fails when it reduces people to commodity and spectacle.

 

A layered collection to be read and reread, with poems that range from tragic to humorous, in forms as varied and nuanced as the ideas the book considers, Bread and Circus asks what it is to have survived, indeed to have flourished, and at what cost. "Full of humane wisdom, this powerful volume forces readers to acknowledge systemic inequity" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) and is ideal for fans of Elizabeth Alexander, Natalie Diaz, Eve Ewing, and Gregory Pardlo.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781668011454
Publication Date: 
May 30, 2023
Author: 
Publisher: 

Good Life

Good Life
$28.99

by Marc Schulz - Professor of Psychology

A New York Times Bestseller

 

What makes for a happy life, a fulfilling life? A good life? In their "captivating" (The Wall Street Journal) book, the directors of the Harvard Study of Adult Development, the longest scientific study of happiness ever conducted, show that the answer to these questions may be closer than you realize.

 

What makes a life fulfilling and meaningful? The simple but surprising answer is: relationships. The stronger our relationships, the more likely we are to live happy, satisfying, and healthier lives. In fact, the Harvard Study of Adult Development reveals that the strength of our connections with others can predict the health of both our bodies and our brains as we go through life.

 

The invaluable insights in this book emerge from the revealing personal stories of hundreds of participants in the Harvard Study as they were followed year after year for their entire adult lives, and this wisdom was bolstered by research findings from many other studies. Relationships in all their forms--friendships, romantic partnerships, families, coworkers, tennis partners, book club members, Bible study groups--all contribute to a happier, healthier life. And as The Good Life shows us, it's never too late to strengthen the relationships you already have, and never too late to build new ones. The Good Life provides examples of how to do this.

 

Dr. Waldinger's TED Talk about the Harvard Study, "What Makes a Good Life," has been viewed more than 42 million times and is one of the ten most-watched TED talks ever. The Good Lifehas been praised by bestselling authors Jay Shetty "an empowering quest towards our greatest need: meaningful human connection"), Angela Duckworth ("In a crowded field of life advice...Schulz and Waldinger stand apart"), and happiness expert Laurie Santos ("Waldinger and Schulz are world experts on the counterintuitive things that make life meaningful").

 

With "insightful [and] interesting" (Daniel Gilbert, New York Times bestselling author of Stumbling on Happiness) life stories, The Good Life shows us how we can make our lives happier and more meaningful through our connections to others.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781982166694
Publication Date: 
January 10, 2023
Author: 
Publisher: 

Modern Guide to Human Design

Modern Guide to Human Design
$27.99

Wouldn't it be great if we were handed an instruction manual, not only for ourselves but the people we love? Our Human Design chart is this blueprint for navigating life as our true selves, releasing outside pressures and beliefs, and allowing our innate magic to shine.

The world teaches us that the truth comes from outside of us--family, friends, experts, institutions--and that we make our best decisions with logic. Human design proposes a new reality: We each have a built-in navigation system. We are each wired for our own unique purpose!

Have you realized that things go smoothly when you trust your gut? You might be a Generator. Do you need to "sleep on it" when making a big decision? You might have Emotional Authority. Has anyone ever told you that you give the best advice? You could be a Projector. Do you bristle when others tell you what to do because you know you're here to impact the world by doing things your way? You may have a Manifestor aura. Have you always just felt more sensitive and different than everyone around you? You might be part of the 1% as a rare Reflector.

The best thing about human design is that it recognizes something we all know but often forget: We are all different. Our human design chart is the tangible blueprint for moving away from living the life that society expects of us and stepping into our special gifts and magic. Wouldn't it be incredible to have an instruction manual explaining how to have the best relationship with your child, partner, friends, or coworkers? This guide empowers us to allow everyone, including ourselves, to be who they are truly meant to be.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781423664024
Publication Date: 
October 3, 2023
Author: 
Publisher: 

Out of the Blue

Out of the Blue
$18.99
In this touching story, a girl and an octopus unexpectedly connect over feeling small in a big world.

Coral has big dreams about grand adventures--but it's hard to go after these big dreams when you're the smallest in the class and feel completely invisible. During a school trip to the aquarium, Coral finds a kindred spirit in Kraken, a small octopus who knows that being invisible isn't always a bad thing.

When Coral finds herself in the aquarium after everyone else goes home, she learns that being seen isn't always about how big you are.

ISBN/SKU: 
9780593353875
Publication Date: 
July 25, 2023
Author: 
Publisher: 

Social Issues in Sport Leisure and Health

Social Issues in Sport Leisure and Health
$48.95
This book examines how social issues shape and influence our engagement with sport, leisure time physical activity and health-promoting exercise. Connecting the personal with the public, it helps the reader to develop a deeper understanding of how social contexts and structures create or constrain opportunities for exercise, leisure and sport.
ISBN/SKU: 
9781032300245
Publication Date: 
October 3, 2023
Publisher: