Bryn Mawr Authors

Women, Performance and the Material of Memory

Women, Performance and the Material of Memory
$79.99

by Laura Engel BMC '90

This book proposes that the performance of archival research is related to the experience of tourism, where an individual immerses herself in a foreign environment, relating to and analyzing visual and sensory materials through embodiment and enactment. Each chapter highlights a particular set of tangible objects including: pocket diaries, portraits, drawings, magic lanterns, silhouettes, waxworks, and photographs in relation to actresses, authors, and artists such as: Elizabeth Inchbald, Sally Siddons, Marguerite Gardiner the Countess of Blessington, Isabella Beetham, Jane Read, Madame Tussaud, and Amelia M. Watson. Ultimately, operating as an archival tourist in my analyses, I offer strategies for thinking about the presence of women artists in the archives through methodologies that seek to connect materials from the past with our representations of them in the present.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781137589316
Publication Date: 
January 21, 2019
Author: 
Publisher: 

Bread and Circus

Bread and Circus
$26.00

by Airea D Matthews - Associate Professor and Co-Chair of Creative Writing

Author's website: www.aireadee.com


Drawing upon economics, theology, and psychology, Bread and Circus explores the lived experiences of those impacted by poverty and racial injustice. This poetry collection is innovative not only in its dissection of established ideals but also in its experimentation with poetic form, with a highlight being blackout poems made by subverting key words in economic texts. The final section of the collection is an especially moving series on collective grief and hope. 

-Alyssa S., GSSWSR '24


 

"Discerning and significant." --Poetry Foundation
"A sharp memoir in verse." --LitHub

 

This powerful and timely collection of autobiographical poems from Yale Young Poets Award Winner and Philadelphia's former Poet Laureate Airea D. Matthews about the economics of class is a brilliant intellectual and artistic contribution to the ongoing conversation about American inequality.

 

As a former student of economics, Airea D. Matthews was fascinated and disturbed by 18th-century Scottish economist Adam Smith's magnum opus The Wealth of Nations. Now, she presents a direct challenge to Smith's theory of the invisible hand, which claims self-interest is the key to optimal economic outcomes. By juxtaposing redacted texts by Smith and the French Marxist Guy Debord with autobiographical prose and poems, Bread and Circuspersonally offers how self-interest fails when it reduces people to commodity and spectacle.

 

A layered collection to be read and reread, with poems that range from tragic to humorous, in forms as varied and nuanced as the ideas the book considers, Bread and Circus asks what it is to have survived, indeed to have flourished, and at what cost. "Full of humane wisdom, this powerful volume forces readers to acknowledge systemic inequity" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) and is ideal for fans of Elizabeth Alexander, Natalie Diaz, Eve Ewing, and Gregory Pardlo.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781668011454
Publication Date: 
May 30, 2023
Author: 
Publisher: 

Girl Who Was No Kin to the Marshalls and Other Stories

Girl Who Was No Kin to the Marshalls and Other Stories
$28.00

by Anne Freeman BMC '56

With ten seemingly light, though occasionally shocking short stories, Anne Hobson Freeman carries the reader back to the joys and the fears, the yearnings and cockeyed values of assorted Virginians in the mid-twentieth-century South.

--Anne Hobson Freeman
ISBN/SKU: 
9781736898956
Publication Date: 
September 21, 2021
Author: 

Knowing is a Branching Trail

Knowing is a Branching Trail
$16.99

by Alison Hicks BMC '82

Knowing Is a Branching Trail is a poetic investigation of the many ways in which we know and come to understanding. In this collection of poetry, selected winner of the 2021 Birdy Poetry Prize, by Meadowlark Press, the poems engage with the work of thinkers and artists, from Charles Darwin and Samuel Beckett to Margaret Atwood and the anonymous paints of the Lascaux caves.

Themes range from pandemic and illness, childhood and parenting, observing and engaging with the natural world, and creating art. Poems in the book have previously appeared in Poet Lore, Blood Orange Review, Green Hills Literary Lantern, and Vox Poetica, and other journals.

In this book, we witness an artist's pause, an extraction of poetry from the ordinary beat of life.


ISBN/SKU: 
9781736223260
Publication Date: 
September 14, 2021
Author: 
Publisher: 

Profound and Perfect Things

Profound and Perfect Things
$16.95
by Maribel Garcia BMC '95
When Isa, a closeted lesbian with conservative Mexican parents, has a one-night stand that results in an unwanted pregnancy, her sister, Cristina adopts the baby-but twelve years later, Isa, who regrets giving up her child, threatens to spill the secret of her daughter's true parentage.
ISBN/SKU: 
9781631525414
Publication Date: 
May 14, 2019
Author: 
Publisher: 

Queer Budapest, 1873-1961

Queer Budapest, 1873-1961
$35.00

by Anita Kurimay

By the dawn of the twentieth century, Budapest was a burgeoning cosmopolitan metropolis. Known at the time as the "Pearl of the Danube," it boasted some of Europe's most innovative architectural and cultural achievements, and its growing middle class was committed to advancing the city's liberal politics and making it an intellectual and commercial crossroads between East and West. In addition, as historian Anita Kurimay reveals, fin-de-siècle Budapest was also famous for its boisterous public sexual culture, including a robust gay subculture. Queer Budapest is the riveting story of nonnormative sexualities in Hungary as they were understood, experienced, and policed between the birth of the capital as a unified metropolis in 1873 and the decriminalization of male homosexual acts in 1961.

Kurimay explores how and why a series of illiberal Hungarian regimes came to regulate but also tolerate and protect queer life. She also explains how the precarious coexistence between the illiberal state and queer community ended abruptly at the close of World War II. A stunning reappraisal of sexuality's political implications, Queer Budapest recuperates queer communities as an integral part of Hungary's--and Europe's--modern incarnation.

ISBN/SKU: 
9780226705798
Publication Date: 
September 4, 2020

Strip Tees

Strip Tees
$27.99

by Kate Flannery '03


 

Strip Tees is a fever dream of a memoir--Hunter S. Thompson meets Gloria Steinem--about a recent college graduate and what happens when her feminist ideals meet the real world.

At the turn of the new millennium, LA is the place to be. "Hipster" is a new word on the scene. Lauren Conrad is living her Cinderella story in the "Hills" on millions of television sets across the country. Paris Hilton tells us "That's hot" from behind the biggest sunglasses imaginable, while beautiful teenagers fight and fall in love on The O.C.

Into this most glittering of supposed utopias, Kate Flannery arrives with a Seven Sisters diploma in hand and a new job at an upstart clothing company called American Apparel. Kate throws herself into the work, determined to climb the corporate fashion ladder. Having a job at American Apparel also means being a part of the advertising campaigns themselves, stripping down in the name of feminism.
She slowly begins to lose herself in a landscape of rowdy sex-positivity, racy photo shoots, and a cultlike devotion to the unorthodox CEO and founder of the brand. The line between sexual liberation and exploitation quickly grows hazy, leading Kate to question the company's ethics and wrestle with her own.

Strip Tees captures a moment in our recent past that's already sepia toned in nostalgia, and also paints a timeless portrait of a young woman who must choose between what business demands and self-respect requires.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781250827289
Publication Date: 
July 18, 2023
Author: 
Publisher: 

You Who Took the Boat Out

You Who Took the Boat Out
$14.99

by Alison Hicks BMC '82

A woman in middle-age takes a canoe out onto the water at night and must discern obstacles barely visible to keep her craft afloat. Her reward is a vision of stars transformed as they are reflected back through water. Her guide is the loon, whose red eye is capable of seeing underwater, and whose wail echoes and beckons. An adolescent whose mother has become ill must traverse the big country she finds inside herself to find a life worth living. A daughter mourns a father. In this collection, Alison Hicks looks beneath the surface of our emotional lives to murky shapes: the twists and turns we are unable to predict, the scrape of love and the experience of being lost, the whimsy of our fantasies, visitation by spirit guides of myth and legend, things we try to keep secret and yet seek to reveal, the hurt that has happened and the tasks to be undertaken.
ISBN/SKU: 
9780998087214
Publication Date: 
February 25, 2017
Author: 
Publisher: 

Postcolonial Satire: Indian Fiction and the Reimagining of Menippean Satire

Postcolonial Satire: Indian Fiction and the Reimagining of Menippean Satire
$100.00

by Amy Friedman BMC '86

This book unseats magic realism as the dominant articulation of postcolonial resistance, by analyzing well-known postcolonial Indian authors of satire. Through the framework of Menippean satire, Postcolonial Satire argues that postcolonial literature can not only resist cultural and political influence, but establish new independent ideologies.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781498571968
Publication Date: 
October 16, 2019
Author: 
Publisher: 

Urban Alchemy

Urban Alchemy
$22.95

by Mindy Fullilove BMC '71 

An identification of the problems of divided neighborhoods and nine tools that can mend them What if divided neighborhoods were causing public health problems? What if a new approach to planning and design could tackle both the built environment and collective well-being at the same time? What if cities could help each other? Dr. Mindy Thompson Fullilove, the acclaimed author of Root Shock, uses her unique perspective as a public health psychiatrist to explore and identify ways of healing social and spatial fractures simultaneously. Using the work of French urbanist Michel Cantal-Dupart and the American urban design firm Rothschild Doyno Collaborative as guides as well as urban restoration projects from France and the US as exemplary cases, Fullilove identifies nine tools that can mend our broken cities and reconnect our communities to make them whole.
ISBN/SKU: 
9781613320105
Publication Date: 
June 4, 2013